Dope Vs Krylon

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

Dope Vs Krylon

Postby daforuiner » Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:40 am

I am new at all this and going to build my first model. I am builing it
as a static model and was wondering if using dope or Krylon would be
easier and/or better.
Thank you
daforuiner

Postby supercruiser » Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:34 am

Since it's static, its really a matter of preference. Either will work. Dope has a strong odor. I think it has a better look to it. Krylon is simple and easy to apply, plus inexpensive. Dope can be costly. Seems most folks on this forum use acrylic paints.
supercruiser

Postby Arlo DiPasquale » Thu Sep 18, 2008 3:07 pm

I usually use acrylic, though I have tried krylon once. I prefer to use acrylic though. Liquitex works great and is a reasonable price.
Arlo DiPasquale

Postby SteveM » Thu Sep 18, 2008 4:48 pm

If forced to choose between dope and Krylon then I would chose Krylon.

But for static displays you just cannot beat acrylic paints like an artist would use. Check out this post by David Duckett where he explains how he does it with Liquitex, which is how I paint all of my static models.
SteveM

Postby John G. Jedinak » Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:25 pm

Acrylic is THE way to go. Best of all it is water clean-up. Ducketts posting made me a believer. Also, using Elmers white glue full strength for gluing is great and then mixing it 50/50 with water works great as THE replacement for dope when sealing both the balsa and the tissue.......Luck JGJ
John G. Jedinak

Postby thymekiller » Fri Sep 19, 2008 8:29 am

I just bought 8 ounces each of dope and thinner. SIG brand. 10.00 each. I'v never used the stuff but I'm fairly certain that I can do MANY planes with what I bought which brings the cost per plane down. I hope the stuff doesnt go "stale" before I use it all. Until now, spray cans have worked just fine.
I have not heard of Liquitex and would like to know more, please.

thymekiller