In flight problems

Ask other modelers for a little help / knowledge ?

In flight problems

Postby airfan » Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:13 am

Hey there! I'm a newbie to this forum and have just finished building the Guillows 600 series Cessna 180. It test glides okay but in powered flight (I'm using rubber power), sometimes it goes straight, but slowly goes down instead of climbing up. Sometimes it stalls, too. Its entire weight is 30 grams. This is my first plane and I followed the plans exactly. I also used the kit wood which seemed very light. I am using some lubricated rubber band gun rubber. Thanks in advance for help! :lol:
airfan

Postby cliffm » Thu Jun 25, 2009 12:26 pm

Finding your question unanswered I feel obligated to extend to you a welcome to the forum and hope you receive as much enjoyment as I have over the past few months. Everybody must be outdoors enjoying. In answer to your quary if you have done your basics in the trim and balance of your craft I would suggest the evidence of a thrust vectoring solution. This involves the fabrication of some type of adjustable nose block to varie the incidence of your propeller in relation to angle of attack,compensation for torque to assist in straight flight or formulating trim for manuevering. If you search this forum I'm quite sure there is some material on this topic. Hope this helps and good flying.
cliffm

Postby airfan » Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:47 pm

Thanks! But I have already put in a down thrust shim,if thats what you mean. Also,as far as I can see it has no warps. Is 30 grams too much? :? Anybody have any suggestions? :D Thanks,airfan
airfan

Postby airfan » Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:47 pm

Oh,sorry I forgot to mention that it sometimes tries to bank left very sharp then flips over backwards. I am flying it when its perfectly still! :? Whats wrong?
airfan

Postby cliffm » Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:04 pm